[REVIEW] You & I by One Direction

BY: JUSEPH ELAS

One-Direction-film-You-I-music-videoIt is undeniably obvious that One Direction is the biggest boyband in the world right now. They have reach such transit landing success after the release of their first album in 2011, Up All Night. No boyband has ever reach such leverage in their early careers and no British boyband has ever made it to the U.S. Billboard charts and top it for three times. No one, except One Direction.

Before I go on to my review proper, it is imperative to understand that the One Direction boys are composed of teenage boys who were all taken away from their home and families to achieve the dream they have always dreamed of. Tour after tour, they have attracted young girls from around the globe to support them and their music. When I watched the movie, This Is Us, one thing become apparent; the boys owe the success of their career to their fans.

You & I is a song that spells how thankful the boys are to their fans for their continuous support. Like any other artists, the boys have both supporters and bashers. What I like about the lyrics of the song is the chorus part.

You and I
We don’t wanna be like them
We can make it till the end
Nothing can come between
You and I
Not even the Gods above can
Separate the two of us
No nothing can come between
You and I

The chorus gives us the message that it’s a partnership between the boys and the fans. Four years after their 3rd place finish on the British talent search, X Factor, the boys’ career have been a success and that is because they have the fans supporting them since day 1.

I think that, in general, the lyrics of You & I pictures the boys’ realizations. Niall opened the song and he realized that everything takes time. No one reaches his/her dreams with just one snap of a finger. Time will tell you when but it doesn’t mean that it’ll take forever to achieve that dream.

Liam’s part clearly tells us that yes they have done wrong things as artists, yes they know that some people don’t appreciate them as artists and their music. But they keep on fighting these negativity because they also know that it’s not just them fighting. They have their family, friends, their management, and the fans fighting with them.

Basically, the lyrics is written to show how appreciative they are for their fans’ support.

The music video though received negative reviews saying that they copied the idea for it from the music video Everything You Wanted by Clubfeet. Let’s break it down.

The media is a field where one material is based from a previous material. The music video of You & I is not an entirely plagiarized material; I’d prefer to call it an intertext of Clubfeet’s Everything You Wanted. You & I opened differently from Everything You Wanted. I think that that should be put into consideration. The creators of You & I, I believe, don’t have the intention to copy. 1D’s management for sure is a smart team and they will never do such thing.

The musical arrangement of the song though is something that will crack any fan around the world. The song arrangement is melodramatic and has the ability to move the emotion of anyone. Even me, I sometimes deviate from listening to it whenever I play the album, Midnight Memories, because I don’t want to cry. But it’s a song that absolutely anyone can and will appreciate.

What I also love about the musical arrangement is it gives us the idea that the boys can also go emotional. While most of us love their pop and rock inspired music, I think that we all can appreciate a little sentimental genre that One Direction has to offer.

As for conclusion, One Direction is a different boyband. They have so much energy, passion, and drive; they are comedians, too, which actually adds up to their charm, and despite all the fame, they are still very humble. If you don’t know what I am talking about, listen and watch the music video of You & I by One Direction.

Leave a Reply

